Author photo

By Drew Lawson
The Record-Times 

Evaluating voter precinct data

Which areas preferred which candidates?


Last updated 11/22/2023 at 11:25am

DAVENPORT — While the 2023 General Election won’t be officially certified until Tuesday, Nov. 28, all contested races have been, in essence, decided. There aren’t enough remaining ballots that would swing any race, and winners have been declared in crucial council, school board, fire district and cemetery district races.

Precinct data was released after the Nov. 14 ballot tally was updated, indicating which areas preferred various candidates in contested races. These numbers tell a story particularly in school board races with multiple candidates.

In the Reardan-Edwall School District, Lane Collier topped Brian Benham 550 votes to 384 in a race for School Board Seat No. 4. But the race was much tighter amongst Lincoln County, with voters preferring Collier 181 votes to 153.

Collier was preferred in the precincts of Canby, Edwall, Gravelle, Long Lake, South Reardan Rural and Waukon. But voters sided with Benham in North Reardan Rural, Spring Creek and Reardan town limits.

The victor’s advantage was widened in Spokane County, where voters preferred Collier over Benham in all three voting precincts that lie within the school district.

In Odessa, incumbent Ed Deife was unseated by challenger Zach Schafer 298 votes to 193 in a race for School Board Seat No. 2. The margin was tight in Adams and Grant Counties, with Schafer holding a slim advantage 17-10 and 7-5 in the two counties, respectively.

Within Lincoln County, Schafer was the preferred candidates in Odessa town limits, rural Odessa and Layton. Lamona voters leaned toward Deife.

Enos and Irby voters were consolidated by the Elections Office, but combined, the precincts chose Schafer.

Elsewhere in the school district, incumbents Carmen Weishaar and Chris Crossley handily won re-election over challengers Amanda Wallace and Cory Kramer. The incumbents held voting advantages in all district precincts.

This was also the case in one race for Harrington School Board, where voters in city limits, rural Harrington, Mohler and Earl preferred challenger Britney Wagner over incumbent Darren Mattozzi for Seat No. 1.

The numbers weren’t quite as cut and dry in the race for Seat No. 2, where challenger Tony Hamilton topped incumbent Jon Evans 160 votes to 145.

Hamilton held a slim advantage in city limits and a wider margin in rural Harrington. Evans was preferred in Earl, while the candidates tied 17-17 in Mohler.

Bluestem, Canby and Downs were consolidated, but combined, the precincts chose Evans 20 votes to 12.

Precinct data is rather irrelevant in town/city council and mayoral races. Voters in those races all reside within municipality limits, and each municipality in Lincoln County is its own voting precinct.

Author Bio

Drew Lawson, Editor

Author photo

Drew Lawson is the editor of the Davenport Times. He is a graduate of Eastern Washington University.


Reader Comments(0)


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Cheney Free Press
Ritzville Adams County Journal
Whitman County Gazette
Odessa Record
Franklin Connection
Davenport Times
Spokane Valley News Herald
Colfax Daily Bulletin

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2024