The Odessa Record -

OHS football players garner awards


Last updated 1/27/2019 at 3:53pm

Terri King

Football awards were presented to Camden Weber, Marcus King, Joshua Clark, Theron Schlomer and Tim DeWulf in the school cafeteria on January 9. Odessa players were also received national and statewide recognition for their efforts.

On January 9, awards were presented in the school cafeteria to members of the state champion Tiger football team. The team's quarterback Camden Weber received the Captain's Award. Marcus King, in recognition of his abilities on both offense and defense, was presented the Thundebolt Award. Joshua Clark, also known for stellar play on both sides of the ball received the Iron Man Award. Theron Schlomer received the Gale Martin Award and Tim DeWulf went home with the Hardest Hitter Award.

In the 1B classification, Odessa's Marcus King, a junior, was also selected by the Associated Press sportswriters in the state as the All-State Player of the Year and a first-team running back. He led the Tigers to the state title with 1,579 rushing yards and a total of 47 touchdowns.

The Associated Press 2018 all-state high school football first team for 1B schools are as follows:

At quarterback Maguire Isaak of Almira/Coulee-Hartline; running backs Marcus King of Odessa and Noah Leonard of Crescent; wide receivers Ethan Lindstron of Naselle and Robert Comstock III of Quilcene; offensive linemen Jaden Hunt and Theron Schlomer, both of Odessa and defensive linemen Theron Schlomer of Odessa; Robert Comstock III of Quilcene and Vince Fauver of Naselle. Honorable mention also went to Odessa sophomore Tim DeWulf at wide receiver.


Reader Comments(0)


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021