The Odessa Record -

Local trapshooters in the top echelon


Last updated 1/27/2019 at 3:53pm

The Spokesman-Review’s Inland Northwest Trapshoot competition completed the third of its eight weeks of competition on January 13, 2019. The Marlin and Odessa Gun Clubs participate in trap shooting from their respective locations but combine their scores to form one team that is entered into the competition.


Sunday, January 20, was pretty chilly, but that didn’t deter the 55 participants that showed up to shoot for the Marlin Gun Club.

Of those 55 people only four shot a perfect 25: Dan Asker, Bill James, Kevin Myre and Ken Thompson.

Five participants shot 24: Mark Edwins, Doug Starkel, Mark Vandeweghe, Dave Asker and Jim Schell.

Kody Vandeweghe, Jim Imbert, Juan Rocha and Kaden Johnson all shot 23.

Shooting 22 were Mark Iksic, Mark Brashear, Doug Brashear, Dennis Klemmer and Rob Imbert.

Austin Nelson, Wayne Dainty and Hunter James were the only three to shoot 21.

Falling in the 20 & below catagory are, Camden Eckhart, Todd Druffel, Carmen Eckhart, Ken Eckhart, Shelby Brashear, Chuck Ray, Ron Lesser, Brent Finkbeiner, Josh Gray, Cory Kramer, Dusty Kimble, Noel Bowden, Brian Finkbeiner, Tyson Visker, Tyson Decker, Andre Morales, Mark Kramer, Teri Kramer, J.D. Blumm, Garrett Johnson, Brook Bonaudi, Jessi True, Jon Hettingh, Kass Kimble, Jordan James, Jacob Stewart, Cameron Metcalf, Shana Galloway, Charlene Krause, Dakota McAfee, Koby Lyons, Scott Mortimer, Tate Heston and Susan James.

The High Handicap winner is Kevin Myre and Mark Brashear won both the Miss -n- Out and Doubles contests.


No shooters at the Odessa Gun Club achieved a perfect 25 this week.

Shooting 24 were Justin Hunt, Nick Tebow and Ryan Lewis.

Landon Lobe, Markus Smith and Jon Fink all shot 23, while Tyler Smith, Cody Stanford, Brandon Larmer, Doug Tebow, Steve Sainsbury and Colley Walter shot 22. Tom Schuh and Anthony Smith each shot 21.

Those with 20 and under were Tanner Stanford, Steven Braun, Garrett Braun, Jim Smith, Trevor Smith, Deric Schmierer, Cody Larmer, Mike Nichols, Bill Weber, Lonnie Wilson, Taylor Aaland, Tucker Walter, Jared King and Daniel Mann.

Trevor Smith was the high handicap shooter, and Markus Smith was the high doubles shooter. In the Miss-n-Out contest, first place went to Cody Larmer and second place went to Lonnie Wilson. Annie Oakley to Lonnie Wilson, and the Bushwacker award went to Markkus Smith.

After opening day of the contest, the Marlin-Odessa Gun Club tied with both the Yakima Valley Sportsmen and the Colton Gun Club, with 100 points each, thanks to the four Odessa shooters who hit all 25 targets. After week two, six Marlin shooters came through by hitting 25 targets, leaving the Marlin-Odessa group tied with the Yakima Valley Sportsmen with 200 points each.

Results of week three were not yet available as of Tuesday evening.


Reader Comments(0)


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021

Rendered 08/02/2021 13:01