The Odessa Record -

Milestone events coming in year 2020

Series: Chamber of Commerce | Story 1

December 5, 2019

The November 12 meeting of the Odessa Chamber of Commerce was held at noon in the public library with several guests in attendance. Hospital administrator Mo Sheldon introduced James DeDeaux, a mental health provider who has been hired as a member of the Odessa Clinic staff. DeDeaux and his wife have moved here from Mississippi. He will begin seeing patients at the clinic in January after he has become familiar with procedures at the hospital and clinic. The couple has purchased a home on Third Avenue.

As reported earlier in The Record, Avista representative Ian Eccles informed the Chamber members about a survey his group has developed in order to help the Avista Foundation to select grant-worthy projects in the communities Avista serves. The survey is available online, as well as in hard-copy format at The Odessa Record, Odessa Memorial Healthcare Center and the town clerk’s office.

Chamber banquet date selected: March 14, 2020. Band has been booked.

Desert 100: Any business or non-profit or individual interested in providing food at ths Desert 100 races this year is asked to contact Chamber president Zach Schafer at 509-279-9870. The year 2020 is also the 50th anniversary of the Desert 100 event. Therefore, a larger crowd than usual is expected. Schafer says this is a fundraising opportunity not to be missed.

Float: Kim Todd has set up a Facebook group for gathering and disseminating information about the Odessa Community Float and the selection of a Miss Odessa. People wishing to assist in designing, decorating, driving to various community parades, organizing a pageant, performing mechanical repairs, etc. are encouraged to volunteer their time. Since 2020 is also the year of the 50th anniversary of the Odessa Deutschesfest, the community consensus would appear to be that Odessa needs to have a float, not only to promote Fest to other communities but also to show local community pride and involvement.

Nomination of officers

Nominations for Chamber officers for 2020 were opened at the November 12 meeting. Most incumbents were willing to serve another year, including Zach Schafer as president, Jeff Huiras as vice president and Larissa Zeiler as treasurer. Lise Ott offered to serve as secretary in order to give a break to current secretary Michelle Melgren. Melgren in turn was nominated to serve in an at-large position on the board. Joy Praetorius notified the board that she was unable to continue on the board due to her work schedule. Other nominees besides Melgren for the board were Emily Rawson, Norm Ott and Terrie Schmidt-Crosby. Members will select two board members from the slate of nominees. The third board position is reserved for the Biergarten chairman for 2020, Kory Kolterman. Kolterman’s co-chair is Shelby Smith.

The December 10 meeting of the membership will provide another opportunity for additional nominations prior to voting. Regular meetings are held the second Tuesday of each month at noon in the public library in the community center.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 01/27/2020 06:05